Welcome to Northwest Regional Education Service Distriict's Web site!
little girl at computer smiling

Our Departments

Public Notices, News & Information

Board Members The Northwest Regional Education Service District is governed by a nine-member board consisting of five elected directors and four appointed directors; each representing a specific geographic zone in the region. Together, these volunteer community members work closely with the ESD’s superintendent to determine district policies and ensure the highest quality programs and services are being delivered to schools in the region.

Superintendent's Office: 503-614-1401, tgartner@nwresd.k12.or.us


Lisa PoehlitzLisa Poehlitz

Lisa Poehlitz, Chair

Zone 3: Hillsboro School District

Lisa is a resident of the Hillsboro area and former member of the Hillsboro School Board of Directors. Lisa currently is a 4-H and Girl Scout Leader.

Phone number: 503-407-0595

Earl FisherEarl Fisher

Earl Fisher, Vice Chair

Zone 4: Beaverton (Beaverton and Sunset high school attendance areas), Clatskanie, Rainier, Scappoose, St. Helens and Vernonia school districts)

Earl spent the last three years of his career as the administrator of Northwest Regional ESD’s Clatsop Service Center in Astoria, retiring in 2003 with 34 years in education. Earl currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Columbia County Commission on Children and Families, the Clatskanie Fire Dept., the St. John Hospital Foundation and the Clatskanie Kiwanis.

Phone number: 503-728-2450

Renee BruceRenee Bruce

Renée Bruce

Social Service position

Renee is the Director of Family & Community Resources at Community Action in Washington County.  Community Action provides an array of services to low income families and individuals throughout the county.  Renee has over 40 years of experience in the areas of Social Services and Childhood Care & Education.  She also serves on the following boards/committees;
CASH Oregon – Creating Assets Savings & Hope, the Community Housing Fund, Washington County Early Learning Community Hub Steering Committee.    She graduated from Michigan State University with a BS in Child Development & Teaching.

Phone number: 503 693-2360

Karen Cunningham
Karen Cunningham

Karen Cunningham

Zone 5: Beaverton School District (Aloha, Southridge and Westview high school attendance areas)

Karen has been an advocate for public education and equity in education for many years. She served on the Beaverton School District Board from 2001 to 2013 and in various capacities at the state school board association. Karen and her husband reside in Beaverton, have two grown sons, and own a computer consulting business together.

Phone numbers: 503-246-3563 (h), 503-880-8639 (cell)

Dr. Constance Green
Dr. Constance Green


Dr. Constance Green,

Higher Education position

Connnie received her Masters in Counseling in 1973 from Miami University in Ohio and her PH.D. in Educational Leadership and policy in 1991 from University of Oregon. Currently serves as President of Tillamook Bay Community College    Dr. Green has been involved with Oregon Community College’s for 38 years.  She worked at Linn-Benton Community College and went on to spend 29 years at Chemeketa Community College from being a faculty member to the Dean of Students, Dean of Strategic Partnerships and Chief Information Officer. She was on the executive team at Chemeketa for 20 years. In her professional journey she has also been:

  • the Deputy Commissioner for Oregon Community Colleges
  • a policy advisor on educational and workforce to Governor Roberts
  • a policy advisor for the State Board of Education for post secondary issues

Constance has also had her own consulting company where she has worked with organizations to address complex issues and improve policy and community relations. Her commitment to ensure student access, success and completion has been a part of every position she has held in community colleges.  Dr. Green was part of the founding team that created an annual student success conference in 1986 that still serves all of Oregon community colleges.

Marilyn McGlasson
Marilyn McGlasson



Marilyn McGlasson

At-Large position

Marilyn retired in 2005 with seven years as Superintendent of the Banks School District in Washington County. McGlasson was a former member of the Washington ESD Board, Washington Service Center Advisory Committee, and superintendent of the former Farmington View School District.

Phone number: 503-648-7312


Kathy Samsel

Kathleen Samsel

Zone 2: Astoria, Banks, Forest Grove, Jewell, Knappa, Neah-Kah-Nie, Nestucca Valley, Seaside, Tillamook and Warrenton-Hammond school districts

Kathy resides in Seaside, Oregon. She retired from education in 2000 after teaching in Hillsboro Elementary School District and Lake Oswego School District. Her 32 year career included Elementary Principalships in McMinnville and Seaside, Oregon. She served on Clatsop Commission for CHildren, was Board Member for Salvation Army in Clatsop COunty. She is active in Community Tsunami Awareness Group (T.A.G.), and the Seaside Library Art Committee.

Phone number: 503-717-9523

Ann Samuelson
Ann Samuelson

Ann Samuelson

Business position

Ann lives in rural Seaside, and has served on the NWRESD Board of Directors for 4 years.  Ann and her husband Dave have two grown daughters and a 2 year old grandson. They are the owners of Denver Point Land & Timber and Ann Samuelson & Associates.  Advocacy has long been a commitment Ann has acted on in her many years of public service and volunteering.  She is a volunteer for the Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization, advocating for a global ban on asbestos, and an end to asbestos related diseases. 

Phone number: 503-755-2540

>> back to top